• Home
  • Media Bulletins 2010


Bulletin No.1  / 11.00 hrs / Saturday 27th March, 2010

The Prologue, or Spectator Stage, to the 20th edition of the Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge got off to a flying start with Emirati Atif Al Zarouni on his CAN-AM DX 450 in the quad category setting the pace for the competitive sections that will get underway from March 28. As is the practice, the Prologue was flagged off in reverse order for all categories.

Download 27.03.10 MOTO START LIST (PDF, 75 KB)
Download 27.03.10 AUTO START LIST (PDF, 45 KB)


Sebastian Husseini riding a Suzuki LTR 450 raced to the top doing his prologue round in a time of 1:44.53 followed by Emirati Mohammed Al Shamsi in a time of 1:47.02 with last year's runner up Obaid Al Echtibi completing the top three with a time of 1:53.78.


Sean Gaugain began the Challenge on a promising note clocking 1:50.59 in his prologue round on his Honda CRF 450X followed closely by Frans Verhoeven on a BMW G 450 X Rally in a time of 1:51.33 with Francisco Lopez on an Aprilia 450 RXV coming in third in a time of 1:53.90.


Jakub Przygonski took the early lead in his category riding a KTM LC4 by finishing his prologue round in a time of 1:56.55 with Marek Swiderski, also on a similar bike, coming in second in a time of 1:58.38 and early Challenge favourite Marc Coma completing the top three in a time of 2:04.53.


BMW's X-Raid began the defense of their title in grand style with Leonid Novitsky and co-driver Andy Schulz clocking 1:56.38 followed by Benediktas Vanagas and co-driver Saulius Jurgelenas who clocked 2:05.14 with Mohammed Al Mannai and navigator Adel Abdulla finishing in thrid with a time of 2:08.30.